Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to all the daddies out there!

Today Sam’s had a good day. Some days he has bad days, some are good. Yesterday was a bad day; he was probably the touchiest I’ve ever seen him. I would simply place a finger on his arm and his entire body would tense up. The stress was visible. Everywhere I tried to touch him — the same reaction. Visits like that kill me because as his mom all I want to do is cradle him, yet physically touching him is so obviously distressing.

He settled down later. They even tried weaning his vent settings, decreasing the pressure. That didn’t go so well and only lasted about an hour.

Today was a better day. We just need to keep having better days, get him off the vent again. I know he can do it, he’s done it before. I wasn’t expecting it to take quite this long this go round.

Now on to pictures…..

Sebastien saying ‘Hi.’

Sam saying ‘Hi.’

The nurses made little signs for all the daddies.

A few hours later I realized…I want to see just how much bigger Sam’s footprints are. I pulled out his original ones, and, well, wow. I place a lighter next to them for scale.

We’ve come a long way.

7 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day

  1. Imelda says:

    Seb has that face like he is cooing at you. Samuel is still scrappin. Such a little strong man. Too sweet, I love their angle faces. Thanks for the updates. Looks like you are staying strong for your little men. We continue prayer for you guys, the boys and all their medical providers.

  2. They always told me that the NICU was a roller coaster. I disagree. I think it’s more like bungee jumping because the highs are like floating until you almost think you can fly and the drops are a terrifying hurl toward certain doom.
    I’m glad today is a floating day. I hope that soon you have way more ups than downs.

Leave a Reply

